You are currently viewing What is the Law Commission of India? #1 best answer

What is the Law Commission of India? #1 best answer

The Law Commission of India is an advisory body established by the Ministry of Law & Justice, Department of Legal Affairs through a government notification. Its specific mandate is to conduct research in the field of law and provide recommendations to the government in the form of reports. As a non-statutory body, the Commission has been tasked with various subjects referred to it by the Department of Legal Affairs, Supreme Court, and High Courts, and has submitted 277 reports to date.

This material can be used for both UPSC as well as state PSCs or PCS exams. To know the exam calendar for UPSC 2023.

Who was the chairman of the first law commission of India?

In 1955, the inaugural Law Commission of Independent India was established with M. C. Setalvad, the Attorney-General of India at the time, appointed as its chairman.

Who are the members of the Law Commission of India?

The 22nd Law Commission will be constituted for a period of 3 years from the date of publication of its Order in the Official Gazette. It will consist of:
1) A full-time Chairperson; (Retired Judge of the Supreme Court or Chief Justice of a High Court)
2 ) 4 full-time Members (including Member-Secretary)
3) Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs as ex-officio Member;
4) Secretary, Legislative Department as ex officio Member; and
5) Not more than five part-time Members.
Source – PIB

What is the tenure of the Law Commission of India?

The term of the law commission of India is usually 3 years. The tenure of the 22nd Law Commission of India ends on February 20, 2023. However, the term of the 22nd law commission has been extended up to August 31, 2024. Justice (retd) Rituraj Awasthi, former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, is heading the 22nd Law Commission of India

What is the history of the law commission of India?

During the time when the British Raj was ruling in India, the first Law Commission was set up in 1834 by the Charter Act of 1833. Lord Macaulay was the chairman of this commission.

Who drafted the Indian Penal Code?

The Indian Penal Code was drafted by the first Law Commission which was chaired by Thomas Babington Macaulay. It was drafted in 1834 and submitted to the Council of Governor-General of India in the year 1835. However, the final IPC after multiple revisions were completed in 1860 and implemented during the tenure of Lord Canning (1856-1862) who was Governor General of India and later became the Viceroy of India.

Kanishka Singh Rathore

Engineer Financial Planner Editor

Leave a Reply